underwriting underwrite Home office Life Insurance underwriter

AHOU and Industry News
  • Carolina Underwriters Forum

    Come to Carolina in the fall!!!! Mark your calendars for Thursday, October 18, 2018 for our next meeting. More info to follow.

    Posted 5/24/2018 2:55:03 AM.

  • Midwestern Underwriting Conference (MUC)

    The Midwestern Underwriting Conference (MUC) is proud to present our 2018 program! Please click the "Learn More" button below!

    Posted 5/21/2018 2:58:54 AM.

  • TWUC (Texas Wide Underwriting Conference)

    Looking for a 4th quarter underwriting conference to put on the schedule? Come to Big D and join us at the Texas Wide Underwriting Conference. Click the "Learn More" button.

    Posted 3/19/2018 6:18:04 AM.


    While there is an attempt to announce all the industry meetings (regional, national and international) there are just some that fall through the cracks because we just don't know about them. If you would like your meeting(s) announced FREE, yes FREE, please send the information to Dan Drabik at: dan_drabik@swissre.com

    Posted 2/28/2018 10:05:58 AM.

  • AHOU Website Features Job Openings and Resumes!

    As a service to our members, the AHOU website has Job Postings, and will post resumes for underwriters seeking employment. Click and learn more!

    Posted 11/21/2009 6:29:00 PM.

Monthly Poll Question
Has your company noticed an increase in applicants with an opioid "need"?

Tips & Tricks

Bizstats.com offers a page with many easy to use financial ratio calculators. The website has other valuable tools to assist with your next challenging financial underwriting scenario too.

Send your tips to AHOU!

Conference Sponsors

The Association of Home Office Underwriters would like to thank our sponsors for the successful 2018 AHOU conference in Chicago, IL:






Partner Sites

Academy of Life Underwriting
Candian Institute of Underwriters

On The Risk

American Academy of Insurance Medicine

Officer Sponsors

AHOU thanks the companies who generously sponsor our officers and committee members:

  • Carolyn Goshorn, Executive Council, VP Publications & Secretary
    Dan Drabik, Website Committee
    Nichole Myers, Website Committee
    Mary Hanson, Program Committee

  • Jeannine DuPlessis, Program Committee

  • Jessica Caracofe, Program Committee

  • Pam Bergsten, Executive Council, VP Program Development
    Dawn Boitnott, Executive Council, VP Technology Development
    Michelle Spevak, Program Committee

  • Tanya Thompson, Social Media Consultant

  • Bill Tilford, VP External Relations

  • Sandra Nichols, Executive Council, VP Conference
    Kim Lancaster, Program Committee

  • Carmela Tedesco, Social Media Consultant

  • Brad Gabel, Program Committee

  • Shawn James, Program Committee

  • Thomas Del Popolo-Fore, Program Committee

  • Joe Keown, Program Committee

  • Amy Prestegaard, Executive Council, Vice President

  • Richard Odom, Executive Council, Assistant VP Technology Development

  • R. Dale Hall, Program Committee

  • Steve Stanley, Program Committee

  • Traci Davis, Executive Council, Past-President

  • Tim Ranfranz, Executive Council, President
    Joel Weiner, Program Committee

  • Sonya Ostling, Program Committee

  • Brendan Paradis, Website Committee

  • Kyle Steadham, Program Committee

  • Kim Anderson, Program Committee

  • Jennifer Richards, Program Committee

  • Bob Morris, Program Committee

    Bill Moore, Executive Council, VP Membership
    Kate Roark, Program Committee

  • Susan Hennis, Program Committee

  • Scott Corbett, Assistant VP Program Development
    Robyn Wallner, Program Committee